Variegated Solomon’s Seal

I get asked this a lot.  What is your favorite plant?  This makes me laugh. To me this is like asking a mother, which is her favorite child!  As I speak at seminars, I can’t help but exclaim “This is one of my favorite plants!” I say it about almost EVERY plant that comes up on the screen.   I seem to have the innate ability to fall in love with many, many plants – which is one of the crazy reasons I do what I do!  Needless to say, I would like to share some ramblings on a few unusual plants that just don’t get the attention they deserve.

Let’s start with a shade lover because you shady folks (and I mean that in a nice way) seem to scream the loudest about your lack of sun.  May I kindly remind you – if you have shade you MUST fall in love with foliage color and texture.  If you do this one thing your life will be MUCH easier!  If not you will be forever in agony waiting for the plant that God did not create for our Ohio climate – a shade plant that blooms all summer with huge flowers!

As far as form and interest – Variegated Solomon’s Seal (Polygonatum odoratum ‘Variegatum’) has always been a favorite on the north side of my house.  I love it from the moment the buds appear!  Check them out!  They remind me of Easter Eggs popping out of the ground….Soon the plant shoots up to about 2 – 2.5′.  To look like this:

Just a super graceful plant.  It does spread by rhizomes (under ground runners)  but in my garden of almost all shade it has formed a clump about 4′ x 4′ over the last 12 years….to me that is not a fast runner.  A few of you have told me you have a lot of it!  So share it!

Many more FAVORITES to come!

Funny how I totally forgot to mention the          flowers or did I?

Leave a Reply

