Penny Nature Preserve Defiance, Ohio

It was one of those April days where the clouds feel as low as the ceiling in your living room, yet I was determined to be outside.  The flyer has been in my “Things to do with Andre” school flyer since Kindergarten.  I can picture that flyer in my mind vanilla colored tri-fold “Nature Preserve” written on the front.  Finally I found the flyer and directions.   We head to Ashpacher Road (located between S.R. 15 and 18).

Looking to my right I see a gravel/weedy open area and a sign!  Hurray for signs, very helpful.  I am in the right place.  We park on the gravel and see before us a field of thistle and wheat colored grasses.  As we step on to what looks like a grass path. I say “It is going to be wet.”  The moment I say that, I feel the cool wetness soaking into my shoe and sock.

Slightly confused we walk on a gravel path leading to what looks like a neighboring property.  Happily we realize is heading for the woods – behind the neighboring house.  Cool, just where we want to be.  As we approach the woods a lone tree blooms among lines of grey.  A Serviceberry, my favorite!

We only left ourselves with half an hour for this adventure, but in that time to managed to encounter, dogwood in bud, very cool mossy logs, Mayapple, Trout Lily, Spring Beauties, a flowing stream and bridge.  We didn’t make it through the woods into the true wetland area before we had to head to piano lessons (and we were quite a muddy site to see)!  We will be back that is for sure!  Here are a few more pictures to leave you with…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Penny Nature Preserve Defiance, Ohio

  1. Village Gardener

    We have passed this place many times on our way to Bryan. Now you have given us a desire to stop and see what we have been missing. Thanks for the pictures.

Leave a Reply

